Books 16-20 of 2017

I am on a roll with my reading!

To read my past reviews, click here for my first ten books and click here for 11-15. I stunk at book reports in school, so don’t expect much in my reviews! haha.

Now on to my next five books…

16 (June 2-13 2017)

16.    I saw Yevgeny Zamyatin’s We pop up on Amazon a few times as recommendations based on other titles I was searching for. I read a little bit about it, and learned that it was a basis for Orwell’s very famous 1984. So I thought hey, why not? I saw it on my new go-to book website one day, and bought it. We takes place in the future where everyone is only known by names and their days are highly regulated. And with typical dystopians, some new person shows up and throws some wrinkles into the main character’s life. I greatly disliked the “wrinkle person” (that’s what I’ll call the character haha) and I had a very difficult time understanding what was happening. The writing style wasn’t clear and seemed jumbled. I didn’t care for it, so it was mailed over to a friend who will likely enjoy it a lot more than I did.

17 (June 14-16 2017)

17.     Next up was The Stranger by Albert Camus. This was another one recommended to me on Amazon; I saw it in my local library’s Classics section, and decided to go for it. Another dud, to me. I felt that the main character was way too bland, and his lack of remorse or feeling for the main action seemed too much like a relative of mine who is up to no good lately, and I don’t care much for him anymore. It was a boring yet mercifully short book. I’m glad that I had only borrowed it and not purchased it.

(My hair is not that light; it’s the different, sunnier location of this photo and the following photo.)

18 (June 17-21 2017)

18.     Ah. Another book that I was glad to have borrowed and not to have purchased – The Awakening by Kate Chopin. I felt that the main character could have made the changes in her life in a nicer way, she was confusing, and I thought that she was selfish. There’s nothing more that I want to say about it. At least it was another mercifully short book – I didn’t like it at all.

19 (June 22-30 2017)

19.     FINALLY. A book that I enjoyed and that I recommend! I was wondering when it would happen, with the past few duds! Mark Twain’s A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court was a long return to Twain after 12ish years; I had previously only read Huck Finn, in I think 10th grade. I saw this at my library, and the idea of a late-nineteenth century American traveling back to sixth century Britain sounded interesting enough to me. It was such a fun read to follow Hank’s adventures in saving the “maidens”, introducing things like dynamite and newspapers, and his desire to overthrow the medieval feudal system. I may read some more Twain in the future.

20 (July 3-6 2017)

20.     Stephen Crane’s The Red Badge of Courage had been in my personal collection for a few years, but then some time ago I got rid of it, thinking that I’d never read it. And then I ended up finding it at a library book sale last month, and bought it again. I enjoyed following Henry’s changes throughout the book, going from fleeing to fighting. And I really liked Crane’s interesting use of colors in his imagery. While I would have liked more dialogue (I like dialogue in my books) and more specific details like the use of names instead of “the tall soldier” (I had a hard time following what each person was doing/saying), it was still a great book.

In my Bible, for June I read the Gospel of John as well as Ephesians. For July, I am reading Proverbs.

I’m already on my 22nd book at the moment (yeah, I was slow to post this… as always) so next month I should have my next batch of books!

Have you read any of these five books? What were your thoughts on them? Would you give any of them a try?

22 thoughts on “Books 16-20 of 2017

    • Thanks – I actually had it cut back in early April (Book 16 was photographed in early June) but I’m growing it long again; I miss being able to braid it and do some other updo’s with it :-\

  1. I’ve read We and that’s it. Right now I’m listening to The Fiery Cross and physically reading The Son by Philipp Meyer. You’ll recognize it if you have seen the AMC TV series.

    • I’ve heard of the TV show The Son (when searching through the tv guide) but haven’t watched it… but I didn’t know that it was originally a book. I’ll have to look into it.

      • I’ve got some huge books in my collection… I do sometimes feel intimidated because I tend to have a poor attention span and feel like I wouldn’t be able to finish them… but by golly, I’ll try! And I’ll still look into reading The Son 🙂

  2. I’ve read The Stranger, and didn’t like it.

    I tend to start more books than I finish, so I’m impressed that you’ve already finished reading 20 books this year. That motivates me to try to finish some of the ones I started.

    • To be honest, several of the books this year were fairly short – ones I knew I could finish within a week. My attention span isn’t too awesome, so I need books that I can see actual progress in after reading for an hour. I couldn’t read a lot of the big “War and Peace” size books. This year I may read “Vanity Fair”, which is huge, and next year “Gone with the Wind”. We’ll see. And if a book is bigger than what I typically read, I try to set daily goals like a certain number of chapters or pages. I helps to keep me on a consistent, steady track.

      And good luck to you! You can do it 🙂

  3. I’ve always wanted to read #19. And hope to do so!

    And I’ve read #20 and was moved powerfully by it!

    I’ve been writing more than I’ve been reading lately. A dear friend gave me The Handmaid’s Tale, so I am currently reading that.

    Love your shorter hair, BeautifulM! 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    • I usually take my photos on Sundays when I’m dressed for church haha. I don’t look as nice during the rest of the week.

      A friend in Croatia told me that The Stranger was a book he had to read when he was in school. I can’t remember if students in our other English classes (either in high school or college) here in the US had to read it.

    • I’m reading book #26 now (“Uncle Tom’s Cabin”, but a book I have been long-awaiting from my library just came in so I will have to set “Uncle Tom’s” aside for a few days)… I’ve been meaning to share 21-25, but the last few days have been busy and I haven’t had a chance to visit my WordPress or other blogs for almost a week.

  4. Pingback: Books 21-25 of 2017 | marica0701

Leave a word or two...

