Lycoperdon (photo)

dscn4834

Taken with my Nikon s9600

I noticed this previously unseen mushroom in our backyard this summer. Each puffball wasn’t that big. And just now, with a quick Google search, I think it’s either  Lycoperdon curtisii or Lycoperdon echinatum. I can’t really tell because I don’t remember if they turned brown when they matured, and the size ranges for both seem like it could be these ‘shrooms.

My dad sometimes goes through intense fads of hobbies, and a few years ago it was mushroom identification and cooking. Whenever he’d walk the dog, he’d take bits of whatever mushrooms he’d find and then try to identify them at home. And if he deemed it safe to eat, he tried to have my mom cook them. I personally do not like mushrooms at all, so I didn’t care for the whole thing and was glad when my dad’s interest faded away haha.

But I thought these looked kinda cute, and I wanted to see if my camera would get some nice detail of them.

9 thoughts on “Lycoperdon (photo)

  1. They are cute and puffy and flower-like! (like mums) Cool shots!
    I love eating mushrooms as long as they are not the bad kind! Ha! “Death by mushroom”, no way…I wanna’ go out in a more exciting way!!! 😉 😛
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  2. I remember going mushroom hunting as a kid in Illinois. We’d pick all the shrooms we’d find and take them home to either cook or freeze for later. They were weird looking but I never disliked mushrooms in general so enjoyed eating them.

    • My dad found one ‘shroom that had “chicken” in its name, I guess because it’s supposed to taste like chicken.
      … I like chicken, but I never tried that ‘shroom when it was cooked for dinner one evening haha

Leave a word or two...

