My Goals for 2016

Happy New Year! πŸ™‚

2015 was kinda cruddy and I’m glad that it’s behind me. I plan to do more in 2016. Here are my goals:

a) Get a new job. By now I have been in my job for about 16 months. It’s a decent enough amount of time, so that should help my resume out. I’m looking for something that keeps me closer to home, does not involve sales in any way, and hopefully pays a bit better.

b) Go on my first-ever date. I have yet to go on what I would say is a date – an outing with a guy with the intention/possibility of it creating a romantic relationship. I don’t want to do this weird, ambiguous, uncertain “is this a date? are we just hanging out?” thing anymore. And I’m 26… and I’m not getting any younger.

c) Go on a getaway/trip. I don’t care if it’s a little weekend trip. Since I don’t know what kind of vacation time I’ll get this year, I can’t really plan anything yet. But if I have a long weekend, it would be nice to go somewhere. I haven’t done any traveling since Sept 2012, so I’m a bit rusty.

d) Sew an article of clothing. I’ve been meaning to get into sewing clothes for myself for a while. I’m a beginner/intermediate seamstress… I can figure my way through some techniques somehow haha. I also want to get into historical and folk costuming at some point (so many beautiful things!!), but I have no idea where to begin with it.

e) Read more. Oy. I only read one book last year. I have a long list of books I’ve been meaning to read. So if I can read like… two… books, that’ll help a bit haha.

f) Watch Mad Men. Enough said for this one.

g) Attend at least one Serbian Orthodox service. Through my work, I’ve met a few Serbian Orthodox people. One coworker has invited me to join her. I have always been curious about Orthodox services, so I will take her up on her offer.

h) Take more photos. Just have fun with my camera – and use this as an opportunity to check out new places and discover unique photo subjects.

i) Blog more often. I will do my best to post here at least once a week. A photo, or a haiku, or even a youtube video that I found and liked enough to share.

j) Be more active on Etsy. I hardly had any sales last year and I largely forgot about my store. I struggled to find inspiration to craft last year. But I will craft when I can, and keep up-to-date on my listings and try to advertise more. … and if you wanted to check out my store now, here is a link to FrauleinPfau! I will also see about selling at two craft shows; the last few years I only sold at one, so maybe if I sell at two, it’ll inspire (aka pressure haha) me to craft more.

We’ll see how this year goes πŸ™‚

Do you have any goals for 2016?

The best of luck to everyone. I hope that 2016 will be great to everyone.

10 thoughts on “My Goals for 2016

  1. It all sounds exciting, doesn’t it? I just love lists, goals and resolutions. πŸ˜€ I wish you all the best with them. For me, I wanna learn a new language, probably Korean. And learn how to drive.
    Hey, I’m almost 30 and I still live with my parents too. But then again, it’s more like a culture here. You don’t move out of your parents’ house until you get married or move to another city. Some people even still live with their parents after they get married if the parents have a big house or enough rooms. Parents might feel offended if the children want to move out. I know my parents would freak out if I tell them I wanna move out and live on my own right now. πŸ˜€ Different cultures, I guess.
    Anyway, I wish you all the best and happy new year!

    • Yeah here people usually move out as soon as they’re 18 or have their first “real” job. I honestly have no problem living with my parents and I would like to stay here until I am at least engaged, if that ever happens… it helps me save money, and it’s not like I’m some party animal or troublemaker. But my younger sister is already married and she moved out in Aug 2014 (when she was engaged), so I sort of feel like I’m holding my parents back from enjoying an empty house when I am their older daughter. I don’t know. :-/

      Happy new year to you, too! πŸ™‚

  2. Dear Marica, I love your goals. Make sure you get one done each month. That might help you. Here’s the name of a book I just finished. It is very good, and a page turner. It is called “The Life We Bury”. It is written by Allen Eskens. It is a novel written by a lawyer. Full of suspense. I liked it. I will visit your “store”. Good luck with sewing. I have been wanting to do that too. Love and hugs. Hope you find a nice young man to go on a date with…. soon!

  3. Great goals, SweetM.! I think you can accomplish all of them! πŸ™‚
    I’m reading a good book called The Color of Water.
    As you accomplish your goals, be sure to blog about them!
    HUGS!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a word or two...

