Old and New (phone!)

old and new

Yes, I have finally made the move to a SMARTPHONE! It’s a Samsung Galaxy s5, with Verizon on the Edge plan. It’s a big jump from a Tracfone Blackberry-style phone to a monthly plan with a smartphone, but I’ll learn πŸ™‚ I have a tablet (the Samsung Tab Pro 8.4″) so I was a bit acquainted with Samsung by the time I chose this phone. I got this on Saturday.

… just because I have made the move to join the world in having a smartphone doesn’t mean I’m fully joining the modern world πŸ˜› I still don’t know how to operate a dishwasher (I hand-wash everything, and the dishwasher that came with the house is used as pan storage) and I still prefer a clothes-line over a dryer for drying laundry!

For those who have my cell number, luckily I was able to keep it so we’re still good there πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Old and New (phone!)

  1. I can still appreciate doing certain things the low tech way, such as dish washing–we don’t have a dishwasher, didn’t have one growing up so I’m okay with washing them by hand. I grew up line drying clothes but now I prefer the machine (except for sweaters and bras, these I air dry). I mash potatoes with the hand tool rather than an electric mixer–I like the chunky texture more but I can make very smooth mashed potatoes if I wanted to with it. I have lots of kitchen gadgets but I appreciate chopping, slicing, etc with knives.

  2. Well, I’m low tech on a lot of things, too. But, it’s nice to have a nice phone. I remember fondly the days when I was smarter than my phone. Ha! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜› Now I’m the dumb one! πŸ˜€

    I do a lot of handwashing of the dishes. Takes too long for enough to pile up to justify using the dishwasher.
    HUGS!!! πŸ™‚

    • The only app I’ll be adding to my phone is Facebook. I wasn’t too happy with my phone zapping 0.4GB of my mobile data already for stupid updates for preinstalled apps. I don’t even care too much for the WP app on my tablet, so I’ll only use WP on my laptop.

  3. I’d connect to Wi-Fi if you’re concerned about data. It uses the battery a bit quicker but it saves data more. Also, I absolutely loathe the Facebook app. I uninstalled it months ago and I’m much happier just using the phones browser.

  4. Your old phone is still very “new” to me. My old phone was a Motorola flip phone. I was laughed at (by my children and grand children) and finally succumbed to getting an i-phone. Never used a Blackberry. So you see, you are way ahead of me.
    I liked reading your profile Marica. Thank you for stopping by my blog and reading my post. Please visit again, now that you know the road to my site!

  5. I learned from a very smart cousin that if you drink a bit too much washing dishes sobers you right up….so one more reason to hang with the old ways =) I still prefer a land line for talking too, I’m afraid of what the cell phone waves might do to my brain, and I need what’s left of my brain cells. I guess I should start posting here and not just reading!

    • Haha yeah I still prefer landlines as well and I usually give out the home landline number if I need people to contact me.

      Hope you’re having a good weekend so far!

Leave a word or two...

