Angel Flake Coconut Cupcakes

???????????????????????????????

I got this recipe from a recent edition of Relish magazine, a small weekly publication that comes with my Akron newspaper.

This cake has a light and delightful flavor of coconut, and I love the coconut flakes mixed in with the batter. While mixing the batter, it was thick due to the added pudding mix and I was a bit concerned, but the cake was so soft and light! I am definitely keeping this recipe, and I will make it for Easter as a cake. I may experiment with different pudding mix flavors with the batter and frostings in the near future.

The frosting is made with Cool Whip, so this cake will need to be refrigerated.

 

Ingredients:

1 package of yellow cake mix and whatever’s needed with it (oil, water, eggs)
2-2/3 cups coconut flakes
1-1/4 cups cold milk
1 package Coconut Cream instant pudding
1 package Vanilla instant pudding
1/4 cup powdered sugar
1 tub Cool Whip, thawed

 

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350*F.

2. Prepare the yellow cake mix as directed and also add 2/3 cup coconut flakes, 1/4 cup milk, and the dry coconut pudding mix. The batter will be thick. Pour into cake pans (or, in my case, cupcake tins). Bake cake according to directions, and cupcakes need about 19 minutes.

3. To make the frosting, whisk the dry vanilla pudding with 1 cup milk. Mix in the Cool Whip. Set it in the refrigerator to thicken as your cake cools. This will be a soft frosting and isn’t pipeable, so just use a knife to spread it. Sprinkle the remaining coconut flakes on top.

5 thoughts on “Angel Flake Coconut Cupcakes

  1. Aw man! I love coconut anything…but especially coconut cake! I always wanted one for my birthday as a kid, but never got one.
    Thank you for sharing this recipe and your photo! I must make this for myself for my birthday this year! 😀
    Oh, it would be so fun at Easter, too! 😀
    HUGS!!! 🙂

Leave a word or two...

