My Chicken Curry

Image

I enjoy cooking, and Chicken Curry is one of my favorite things to make. My family and I really like the bold flavors of Indian cooking (and for my father and I, the hotter the better!). Sometimes we get jars of curry sauces at the supermarket, but somehow they’re not flavorful enough for us. Thankfully we’re pretty good with home cooking and finding our own ways to get what we want in our food.

Someone on Facebook asked me for the recipe. But to be honest, there’s no actual recipe that I follow. Here I have the rundown of how I make it.

I make a BIG batch of this stuff. First we have it for the initial dinner, then I have enough left over for several lunches.

 

Ingredients:
–  Butter (4T will be fine)
–  Flour (same T as the butter you use), then additional to thicken more
–  Milk (I use approximately 1/2 gallon because we really like a lot of sauce)
–  Curry powder (I use Shah Curry Powder Mix, can be found in most international food stores/sections)
–  Salt, to taste
–  Cooked chicken (I use a 5-lb bag, cooked in the oven then it’s cut into bite-size pieces)

Okay, now to make it:
1)  In a pot, melt your butter at medium heat. Slowly add flour and whisk, then let cook for a minute or two.
2)  SLOWLY add milk. Be sure to whisk as you’re adding this in, so that you don’t get clumps of flour. Eew. Bring the heat up to medium-high to get the milk hot.
3)  Slowly add the curry powder to your desired flavor and continue to whisk. I love a flavor-packed dish, so I use about 4 heaping teaspoons of the curry. You may need some salt to boost the flavor; I know that my curry mix seems bland until I add a bit of salt to really enhance it.
4)  Slowly add additional flour to thicken the sauce to desired consistency. If you made it a bit too thick, slowly whisk in water to thin it out.
5)  When sauce is hot and flavored/thickened to your desired consistency, add the cut-up chicken and cook until chicken is heated through again.
6)  Serve over cooked Basmati Rice (or just plain white rice will be okay) and some warm bread (ideally naan/pita, but I also use toast and flour tortillas).

2 thoughts on “My Chicken Curry

Leave a word or two...

