Tutorial: Little Treat Boxes

Ah, the first tutorial on this blog!

I am selling at a craft show next weekend, and I wanted to give something to those who purchase items from me.

… okay, and I just wanted to try something new.

These are tiny treat boxes, and I have nine Hershey’s Kisses inside each box. I could probably fit three more inside, but … well… I like chocolate and I couldn’t keep myself from eating some as I was making the boxes! 😛

I got this idea from Pinterest. I think it’s from Stampin’ Up, some brand which I’m going to guess should be a Mecca for rubber-stamping enthusiasts. This was from a video, so this is the non-video and non-SU version. They were fancy in making their boxes, using scoring boards and a kajillion different embellishments and exact names of the designs on the paper… yeah, I just have plain cardstock and my embellishments come from the Clearance rack at Hobby Lobby. I don’t pay too much attention.

The part that contains your treats will measure 2.5″L x 1.5″W x 1.75″H. I imagine putting tea bags in here… a piece or two of gourmet single-wrapped chocolates that are like $10/lb… or any other little items. These would make cute favors at parties, nice dinners, and “thinking of you” gifts. I may make these for a Tea at my church in December, and put some nice tea bags inside.

You’ll need:
– One piece of 8.5″x5.5″ piece of cardstock paper (1/2 sheet of paper)
– Pencil and ruler
– Scissors
– Embellishments to decorate the sides
– Ribbon or other ways to close the top

Image
1
. On your 8.5″x5.5″ piece of paper, mark out your lines. On the 8.5″ side, mark 1.75, 3.5, 5, and 6.75 inches from the corner. On the 5.5″ side, mark at 1.5 and 4 inches from a corner. Draw your lines.

Image
2
. Here are my lines drawn on green cardstock.

Image
3
. Fold at all the lines. … and, as you can see, sometimes I’m not the best folder. 😛 Also, look at the right side of my paper here. I cut approximately 1/4″ to the line (see this on the left side of my template in the first photo). This little strip will be cut off in the next step, so that it allows for more comfortable assembling later on.

Image
4
. Time to make some cuts. Refer to the first photo for the cut lines. Also, cut diagonal lines as shown to remove four triangles.

Image
5
. Time to assemble! To form the box, fold up the small square (center piece on the 8.5″ side). Then, bring up the side that had the 1/4″ strip removed, and fold over that piece over the small square. Do the same thing to the other side. For adhesive, I put some glue stick on the two tabs (the two outer pieces on the 8.5″ side). I used a big paper clip to hold the sides together as the glue dried.

Image
6
. This is what the side should look like. Do the same thing to the other short side of this box.

Image
7
. Fill up your box with goodies, and then embellish your box! I had vellum sheets and I used my computer to create “thank you” tags. I used silver filigree stickers to attach the tag. For closing the box, I punched two holes while pinching the top together, and used 3/8″ ribbon to tie a bow.

 

To view the original video, click here.

If you have any questions, please feel free to ask below.

3 thoughts on “Tutorial: Little Treat Boxes

Leave a word or two...

